+ Reply to Thread

Thread: What is the end-game?

What is the end-game?

I know there are some that will probably see this as a bash Garth thread. I am as sincere as can be when I say that is not the case. I am genuinely curious, and at the same time perplexed, at how the first 5 years of the "comeback" has gone.

As I've stated in the past, I grew up working in radio. From the ages of 15-22 I worked at a pretty large country station. While my friends were spending their weekends going out on dates I spent my weekends programming my own country radio show and reading Billboard and Radio&Records (R&R). I feel like I know a little bit about country music and how things typically work. I even started the process of becoming a music business major before ultimately getting a master's in psych and working in mental health. Anyways, I'm no expert in country music, but I feel like I probably do know a little something.

There are 2 things that I think are clear about his strategy:

1 - RIAA certifications are the primary goal. He is definitely trying to become the best selling artist of all-time AND he wants to rack up Diamond (10 million +) albums along the way. I have never seen an artist talk so much about "retail". He talks Wal-Mart, Target, Dollar General, Cracker Barrell, Amazon, etc. His goal is clearly to sell to retail and at times it feels like he is OK with copies being left on the shelf as long as they are "sold" to the retailer. That is also why the cost of these boxes/sets are so cheap.

#2 - The focus is clearly on the "old stuff"
    When I worked in radio we would laugh because every artist would always say that their new album "is the best thing I've ever done". That was said like a broken record. Garth is the total opposite. It is all about the past, the "legacy", etc. I'm not saying there shouldn't be some emphasis there, but that seems to be the total emphasis.