• Garth Brooks (1989)

    Garth recorded his self-titled debut album at Jack's Tracks Recording Studios in 1989 with producer Allen Reynolds. Capitol Records released Garth Brooks on April 12, 1989, to both critical and chart success. The album peaked at #13 on the Billboard 200 and at #2 on Billboard's Top Country Album charts. The RIAA subsequently certified the album Diamond status for the sale of more than 10 million copies in the United States.
    Garth's debut contained many of his earliest hits and his first (and arguably best) signature song, The Dance. The first single, "Much Too Young (To Feel This Damn Old)", peaked at #3 on the Billboard country singles chart in 1989. The song also thrust rodeo champion and cowboy rocker Chris LeDoux into the mainstream with the lyric "a worn out tape of Chris LeDoux." Garth scored his first #1 single with "If Tomorrow Never Comes." The other #1 single, The Dance, garnered the Academy of Country Music's 1990 Song of the Year and Video of the Year.

    Track listing (songwriters in parenthesis)
    (Note: The following is the original track listing. Later special editions of the CD added an additional song.)

    "Not Counting You" (Garth Brooks) 2:30
    "I've Got a Good Thing Going" (Larry Bastian, Sandy Mahl, Brooks) 2:50
    "If Tomorrow Never Comes" (Kent Blazy, Brooks) 3:37
    "Everytime That It Rains" (Charlie Stefl, Ty England, Brooks) 4:07
    "Alabama Clay" (Larry Cordle, R. Scaife) 3:35
    "Much Too Young (To Feel This Damn Old)" (Randy Taylor, Brooks) 2:53
    "Cowboy Bill" (Bastian, Ed Berghoff) 4:28
    "Nobody Gets Off in This Town" (Bastian, DeWayne Blackwell) 2:17
    "I Know One" (Jack Clement) 2:49
    "The Dance" (Tony Arata) 3:37

    Chart Singles

    Year Song
    U.S. (Country)
    U.K. (Singles) Canada (Country)
    1989 Much Too Young (To Feel This Damn Old)
    1989 If Tomorrow Never Comes
    1990 Not Counting You
    1990 The Dance

    Musicians appearing on the album

    Mark Casstevens - acoustic guitar
    Chris Leuzinger - electric guitar
    Bruce Bouton - steel guitar
    Rob Hajacos - fiddle
    Bobby Wood - keyboards
    Mike Chapman - bass
    Milton Sledge - drums
    Wayland Patton, Kathy Chiavola, Hurshel Wiginton, Jennifer O'Brien, Wendy Johnson, Curtis Young, Trisha Yearwood - background vocals
    Nashville String Machine